Month in Review: May

Bonjour mes amis, bienvenue.

This month I:

  1. Flew to LA for three days
  2. Bought my dog a sparkly pink collar from Beverly Hills
  3. Caught up with some friends
  4. Ushered a choir concert
  5. Got a terrible cold
  6. Finished my colouring-in book
  7. Flew to Cannes for three days
  8. Went to the premiere of The Beguiled
  9. Ate the best pasta I have ever eaten in my entire life at Da Laura
  10. Also ate a lot of macarons and French pastries
  11. Got my learners permit
  12. Saw my sister play in the school music concert
  13. Went shopping alone for the very first time
  14. Did a ridiculous amount of homework to make up for the fact that I went overseas twice in one month

This month I read:

Persuasion by Jane Austen. I’d say I’m about a quarter of the way through and it’s fantastic (though I knew I’d love it). I feel very sorry for poor Anne, her sisters aren’t very nice to her. Favourite quote so far: “But I hate to hear you talking so, like a fine gentleman, and as if women were all fine ladies, instead of rational creatures.”

This month I listened to:

Max Richter’s Sleep Remixes. They’re quiet and serene, though interesting enough to listen to by themselves as well. I don’t listen to them to get to sleep, but rather when I’m doing homework, because it’s very atmospheric.

This month I watched:

A LOT. Let’s start with TV.

  1. Master of None – “The sickening! It’s happening!”
  2. Riverdale – I did not see that coming.
  3. Summer Heights High – “It’s G time not free time.”
  4. Eurovision – Sequin suits are all the rage right now.

Movies:

  1. Little Women (1994) – So, so lovely.
  2. Labyrinth – “For my will is as strong as yours, and my kingdom as great.”
  3. Marie Antoinette – “This is ridiculous!” – “Madame, this is Versailles.”
  4. Beauty and the Beast – I’m sad they don’t allow singing on planes
  5. La La Land – Yes, again, and yes, I cried (again)
  6. Arrival – I actually quite like aliens
  7. Gentlemen Prefer Blondes – “I just love finding new places to wear diamonds!”
  8. Are We Officially Dating (Australian title, also known as That Awkward Moment in America)
  9. Cat Ballou (1965) – Not to my taste, but Jane Fonda was fantastic
  10. The Beguiled (2017) – I might be biased, but I thought it was really, really good
  11. A Streetcar Named Desire – I went into this knowing nothing about it and thought it was a romance film. Oh, how I was wrong.
  12. Moulin Rouge – I’ve been singing the soundtrack non-stop for the past two weeks
  13. Le Samouraï (1967) – Spectacular
  14. The Barkleys of Broadway (1949) – Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers can really dance.

Other:

  1. Charles Blackman’s Schoolgirls exhibition at the Heide Museum of Modern Art – Wonderful
  2. My mum’s choir concert – The church was cold, but the singing was lovely
  3. Melbourne Talam, a play done by Melbourne Theatre Company – A beautiful story about identity and living in a new city. Also, it included some amazing dancing.

This month I learnt:

  1. To recognise my privilege
  2. You can’t do everything, please everyone, and always be the best
  3. To be more independent
  4. Denying others’ bad feelings intensifies them, whereas acknowledging their bad feelings allows their good feelings to return (excerpt from Gretchen Rubin’s One-sentence Journal)
  5. Some people you once knew so well can seem like strangers
  6. Positive thoughts are much more valuable than negative ones
  7. To take one day at a time

In June I’m looking forward to:

  1. Getting through my mid-year exams
  2. Seeing MTC’s production of Macbeth
  3. The Beguiled US release in theatres! June 23rd, put it in your calendar
  4. Starting a new secret project

 

One thought on “Month in Review: May

  1. Reading your thoughs it is like some sort of meditation for me lol. Is that weird? 😂 how did you became an actress & how did you got into hollywood? :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

