Month In Review: February

I still have to spell out “feb-RU-ary” in my head.

This month I:

  1. Had school photos
  2. Went to Sydney and judged Tropfest Jr in 46ºC heat (I sweated a lot)
  3. Went to Sydney (again) with my friends for the Jasper Jones premiere
  4. Did two intense days of press in Sydney
  5. Went to Perth and did more press
  6. Felt ready to sleep for a solid seven years when I got back home
  7. Had my first speaking assessment in year eleven French (I think I did okay?)

This month I read:

My press schedule over and over and over again. I didn’t have much time to read anything else. Except The Wishing Chair: The Complete Stories by Enid Blyton, one of my favourite childhood books. I still haven’t finished Atonement.

This month I listened to:

Coeur de Pirate. There was an interview with her that I had to read as a part of our French reading comprehension. I then listened to her music and I found I really enjoyed it. My favourites are Lève les Voiles and Place de la République. I also found a song called Tell Me by Johnny Jewel featuring Saoirse Ronan from Lost River. Apart from her being an incredible actress (Brooklyn is one of my favourite movies), she also has a lovely voice. I’m also very excited for Lorde’s new album. Green Light is gorgeous.

This month I watched:

  1. Mustang – It’s a turkish film directed by Deniz Gamze Ergüven and it’s fantastic. Trust me.
  2. Breathless – Revolutionary cinematography, but the content is dated.
  3. The Bachelor – By this point we all know who’s going to win.
  4. Singin’ in the Rain – I watched it non-stop when I was a kid and watching it again as a teenager filled my heart with nostalgia. It’s such a beautiful film.
  5. Tangled – I will never stop loving Flynn Ryder.
  6. Riverdale – Betty + Jughead forever.
  7. Daddy Day Care – Elle (Fanning) is an ADORABLE five year old.
  8. The Oscars – So much happened. So much.
  9. Jasper Jones – I mean I’m not biased or anything but it’s the best film ever made.

This month I learnt:

  1. Things, people and life in general is confusing
  2. True friends are those who talk to you despite of your achievements, not because of them
  3. Ignoring a problem until it goes away is ineffective and unproductive
  4. In the age of text-messages and emails, receiving mail is really exciting

In March I’m looking forward to:

  1. Seeing my friend in a play
  2. Seeing Hidden Figures with my maths class
  3. International Women’s Day (March 8)

Featured Image: Taken at the premiere of Jasper Jones. This is our VIP face. 

One thought on “Month In Review: February

  1. Hey Angourie! I saw Jasper Jones the other day and I wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed it. I loved it on stage and was excited to see the movie. I think you were one of the best parts of it- you can read my full review here https://scribblesofstageandscreen.com/2017/04/14/jasper-jones-entertaining-australian-coming-of-age-story/
    I was reading through your ‘About’ section and thought it was funny how much we have in common. I also want to be an actress- although right now I am just focusing on Uni. I am 18, from Sydney and ‘The Book Thief’ is my favourite book as well! (well that and ‘The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window and Disapeared’- have you read that? It’s great.)

    Jo x

    Like

Leave a Reply

