2016

I know, it’s cheesy, kind of annoying and very unnecessary, but despite all of this, I’m still going to do it. Here is my rundown of 2016.

JANUARY

This is my birthday month! For my birthday this year I had a sophisticated lunch with ten of my friends. We then went home to my house and proceeded to play Just Dance on the X-Box. Very sophisticated. During the rest of the summer holidays I took catch up french classes (I had missed the last part of school due to filming Jasper Jones), went to the Andy Warhol / Ai Wei Wei exhibition, and saw the release of the first trailer for The Nice Guys.

FEBRUARY

Ah, the start of school. Unfortunately, being a away a lot due to working (particularly at the end of the year), leads to one feeling very lost – an emotion which usually sparks a bit of an identity crisis. Nevertheless, I kind of got through it and invested myself in photography class.

MARCH

March saw the discovery of my new friendship group! I had found my people again and all was well. Nowhereboys: The Book of Shadows was released on ABC3, and I went to the Marilyn Monroe Exhibition in Bendigo. I also took a lot of pictures of dogs.

APRIL

I got new headshots and did one of my very first photoshoots. I find modelling quite awkward and strange, but the experience was made 100x better by the fact that the photographer had a dog. On the 28th, the first promotional picture of me was released for The Nice Guys. I am sweet and sassy.

MAY

PRESS TOUR MONTH aka the craziest month of my life. Over one hectic week in Los Angeles (starting on the 5th) I had one premiere, two auditions, three press days, four meetings, five outfits and six crazy moments of realising that this is actually my life (one each day). After LA was Cannes. I stood in front of a wall of photographers in a lavender dress and laughed at the fact that I bought it for $10 and I was surrounded by three men wearing very expensive suits. I also went to the Vanity Fair Party (for some reason they invited me) and got chocolate ice cream on my white dress. I walked on a large red carpet in a floor length dress, and tripped a little on the stairs. After another day of press, I was whisked off to London. Because the decision for me to go to London was very last minute, I had to find an outfit to wear on the red carpet in a day. Thankfully, I found a dress in time so I didn’t have to walk the carpet in a paper bag. So finally, after two weeks of absolute mayhem, I returned to school. And normal life.

JUNE

The Nice Guys was out in cinemas all across Australia. I went to see it once with my friends, but that marked the fourth time I’d seen it and I haven’t seen it again since. June also brought winter and midyear exams. Thankfully, I passed them all and began my winter holidays … though not for long. On the 19th of June I was whisked away by a Qantas aeroplane to America again. This time, it was for a super duper secret project that involves an arachnid and a teenage boy. I’m sure you can guess what it is. After being in the middle of a stinking hot Georgian summer, I returned to Melbourne for the rest of winter.

JULY

According to my Instagram pictures, I didn’t do much in July, which is true. I started school again and things were pretty quiet until on the very last day of the month, we got our new dog Lola.

AUGUST

Lola is very different to our previous dog. Mike the whippet was lazy and calm, and all he would ever do is sit around all day. Lola, on the other hand, is the complete opposite. She is bouncy, energetic and crazy. She’s also an absolute bundle of joy and the cutest thing in the entire world. And finally, on the 24th, I decided to create this blog.

SEPTEMBER

School, school and more school. The spring weather made school more enjoyable but by this stage I was itching to get back to work. I auditioned a lot, got rejected a lot (but I’m used to it now), and finally, booked a job. But of course, I can’t start work again until I go to Paris.

OCTOBER

On the 4th of October, I arrived in Paris for the Miu Miu fashion show. How I got there, I cannot tell you. Nevertheless, it was an amazing experience. I met some lovely people, got to wear crazy shoes, and experience my very first fashion show. After arriving back from Paris, I had to participate in my school Orchestra Concert. It was the perfect thing to bring me back to reality. On the 19th, my first ever magazine photoshoot was released. On the 24th, I said goodbye to my friends at school and hello to my friends at Qantas (they love me because I’m always flying to America). For the first time in a while, I was able to experience a new city; New Orleans. On the 31st, The Beguiled began filming.

NOVEMBER

The entire month of November was spent in the lovely city of New Orleans, shooting The Beguiled. I loved every minute of it. Everyone was so kind and welcoming to the Australian girl who didn’t know what King Cake was, and I spent most nights enjoying Ben & Jerry’s ice cream and American Netflix (which has so much more than Australian Netflix). Unfortunately, the lowest point of my trip was when I heard the news that Donald Trump had been elected President of the United States. At that moment, I wanted to go home.

DECEMBER

On the 7th of December, we finished filming. On the 8th, I flew out of New Orleans. On the 10th, I arrived home. The worst part about finishing a film is that you know you might never see these people again. And even if you do, it will be a completely different environment, and the experience won’t be the same. In such a short space of time, you get so close with these people. You’re all trapped in a little bubble together, and as soon as that bubble pops and you all go home to your friends and families, it’s all a little bubble of memories in your mind. The best thing about finishing a film is that you know all of these wonderful memories will forever be preserved in a movie that you can watch whenever you want. On the 17th, my family and I flew to Sydney to go on a 10 day cruise, which stopped in New Caledonia and Vanuatu. It was the perfect thing to end the year – 10 days away from my phone and the internet.

NOW

I feel I should acknowledge not just the year I’ve had, but also the year the world has had. Out of all the terrible things that have happened this year – I must remember it is important to combat them not with anger, but with intelligence. Going into 2017, one of my goals is to be less selfish. I want to drive action and do things I feel are important to me and the world I live in. I’m going to say what I feel and not apologise for it. I am going to change things.

For me, this year has been a phenomenal rollercoaster. I’ve completed two films and eight exams. I consider these two things great achievements, because I’ve managed to do both without failing the other. And thank you, to everyone who has made this year great.

Look, I know it’s super cheesy and sentimental, but isn’t that the point of holiday season?

See you in the New Year,

Angourie

8 thoughts on “2016

  1. That was a fun read – and also nice to know I’m not the only one who has a “kinda private” outlet for creativity!

    This year was honestly “by the numbers” for me, as I had a buttload of school work to do. But now, things are shaping up to be more experimental in 2017: started learning Russian, moving to a different, less conventional school and I’ve FINALLY gathered enough money to buy a pretty high end PC to learn programming and video editing.

    I have passion for so many things: languages, cinematography, computer engineering, modelling, drawing, writing and politics just to name a few. I honestly don’t know how to actively engage in all these next year. But if there’s something you taught me, is that all I have to do is do my best and go with the flow and eventually, if I’m either good or lucky or both, I’ll hit jackpot. I have a feeling next year will be the best one I’ve had yet, and know that, even if just a little, you’ll have contributed to it simply by being yourself.

    Happy New Year’s Eve and birthday Angourie!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Un très bon compte-rendu d’une année riche en événements importants. Écrit avec beaucoup de maturité par une étoile montante du cinéma international.

    Envoyé de mon iPhone

    >

    Like

  3. Hi Angourie, I’m a 16 year old portuguese kid, and I just finished reading all of your blog posts in about 45 mins, and I’ve got to say, I really enjoyed it. You’re a very talented person, at both acting and writing. I would love to get to know you, you seem like a really nice and smart girl who has a lot to say. I look forward to seeing more from you! Keep up the great work!

    With lots of love from Portugal,

    Guilherme

    Like

  4. Hi, Angourie, you were so good in The Nice Guys and you write very well too! I didn’t no someone my age could do all those things (hahahaha). So after I watched the film I ended up here searching for your work and found out that you have such a good taste in films and TV Shows! (Also, as I said before, very good writing). So, that’s all I have to say, I’m pretty impressed on the way you handle your growing popularity writing these interesting stuff haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Angourie, I really admire you. Not only your acting, but also your personality. Through this blog and your posts, I can see that you are an amazing person, who deserves everything you are getting. Happy 2017, and I hope your career keeps rising.
    (The Nice Guys was one of the best movies of 2016, and you were its highlight)

    Like

Leave a Reply

