Like Taking Candy From A Stranger

I still haven’t gotten used to the fact that everyone drives on the opposite side of the road, so I can’t allow myself to cross the road alone.

LIKE TAKING CANDY FROM A STRANGER – Monday, the 31st of October

Best Halloween Costumes I Saw:

  1. Three toddlers all dressed as minions
  2. Dwight K Schrute
  3. Hillary Clinton
  4. Violet Beauregard
  5. Jim and Pam Halpert
  6. A green blob
  7. Oompa Loompas
  8. A pink highlighter
  9. Hermione Granger
  10. A million 5 year old Elsas and 25 year old Harley Quinns

Things That Made Me Happy:

  1. Seeing how pretty Thibodaux is
  2. Figuring out how to spell Thibodaux correctly

Fun Fact About Louisiana:

I visited a mansion which took a total of 8 years to plan and design. It was completed in 1848. Also, it’s haunted.

SUGAR – Tuesday, the 1st of November

American Candy I Collected:

  1. Smarties (they’re different to Australian Smarties)
  2. Reese’s peanut buttercups
  3. Milky ways
  4. Dots (they’re weird but I think I like them?)
  5. Tootsie rolls
  6. Tootsie roll lolly pops
  7. Halloween mini pretzels
  8. Almond joys
  9. Halloween flavoured skittles (I don’t know what makes them different from normal skittles, but apparently they are)

Things That Made Me Happy:

  1. Going trick-or-treating
  2. Seeing Pam have a baby on The Office
  3. Collecting candy from strangers

Fun Fact About Louisiana:

Most of the old houses built in rural Louisiana have very French architectural features.

BRING BACK MY VEGEMITE – Wednesday, the 2nd of November

Things I Miss About Australia:

  1. My family (especially my dog)
  2. My friends
  3. Gossiping with my friends
  4. Not having to communicate with my family when it’s super late at night in New Orleans
  5. The normality of school
  6. Healthy hipster Melbourne food
  7. My room
  8. Normal clothes that aren’t 1800s costume
  9. A4 paper
  10. Vegemite

Things That Made Me Happy:

  1. Watching The Office (it’s the highlight of my day)
  2. Eating my Halloween candy
  3. A good(ish) night’s sleep

Fun Fact:

I sat on the same chair that Beyoncé sat on in her Sorry music video. Sorry not sorry.

KALE – Thursday, the 3rd of November

Food I’ve Eaten On Set:

  1. Porridge
  2. Freshly shelled peas
  3. Cabbage
  4. Lots of fish because the caterers are amazing and always cook good fish
  5. Lots of olives
  6. Cat fish
  7. Garlic bread
  8. Kale salad (because I’m hipster)
  9. Bagel with Nutella
  10. Rice bubbles
  11. A muesli bar that claimed it empowered women
  12. Fruit gummies?
  13. Tictacs (which I SWEAR are bigger in America)
  14. TATER TOTS

Things That Made Me Happy:

  1. Eating my ice cream
  2. Finally doing my science test!
  3. Sleeping with a new blanket, which is actually my new favourite thing in the world (and no, I’m not sponsored, it’s genuinely an amazing blanket)

Fun Fact:

The main produce in Napoleonville and Thibodaux is sugar cane. (At least I think so – there are a lot of sugar cane crops).

I CAN’T MOVE – Friday, the 4th of November

Things that are difficult to do in a floor-length dress and corset:

  1. Going up and down stairs
  2. Getting in and out of cars
  3. Eating
  4. Squeezing into chairs which are close together
  5. Maths
  6. Tying shoelaces
  7. Bending over in any way
  8. Moving quickly
  9. Moving without complaining
  10. Moving in general
  11. Running
  12. Feeling comfortable
  13. Living like a normal human being

Things That Made Me Happy:

  1. Finishing my Ben and Jerry’s ice cream
  2. Washing my hair after it was super greasy and oily

Interesting Fact:

The state of Louisiana is mainly Republican.

Featured Image: My dad took this picture of me while I was taking a picture of a pretty building I saw in the French Quarter. I think the picture of me should be called “Professional Tourist”. 

One thought on “Like Taking Candy From A Stranger

Leave a Reply

