Month in Review: September

The first month of Spring! You have no idea how many Americans I’ve shocked by telling them that we have different Seasons in the Southern Hemisphere.

This month I:

  1. Saw a lot of theatre
  2. Started the Spring holidays! (No, this does not mean we have Easter in September, it means we have Halloween in Spring)
  3. Went to the Peninsula Hot Springs, which was delightful
  4. Slept in every single day of the holidays
  5. Procrastinated from doing my holiday homework

This month I read:

The Cursed Child, by J. K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany. 3/5 stars. I wanted it to be something different to what it was – I had high expectations … unfortunately it fell slightly short. The story was a little all over the place – time travel never makes sense, and the story was slightly predictable. It was difficult see Harry, Ron and Hermione in a more mature and adult light. I think Rowling created characters that couldn’t age. Also, there was no equivalent to Hermione. Of course, the original Hermione Granger was a semi-prominent character, however the play was mainly about Scorpius and Albus, two young boys. There were no other young, and strong female characters. To my disappointment, Rose Granger-Weasley only appeared a couple of times. Nevertheless, it is the eighth instalment of a series that I love, so of course I enjoyed it, just not as much as I hoped I would.

I also completed a second book this month, which was The Nice Guys novelisation by Charles Ardai. I won’t give it a rating because I have a very biased opinion, however I found it thoroughly enjoyable. I’ve seen the film four times (two times too many, in my opinion), and know it so well that I read all the lines in my head like they were said in the film, which was quite fun. It was also a bit strange, because I had lived through all the scenes. It was like reading my own memories.

This month I listened to:

Still Hamilton. But I also went through a bit of nostalgic phase and started listening to ABBA. Although I wasn’t born yet when they first released their music, my parents owned the ABBA Gold DVD when I was little, which had all the music videos of their greatest hits. From when I was a baby until about age five, my parents would make me watch ABBA Gold to get me to calm down. So all the songs are embedded deep in my memory and it was quite a lot of fun singing along to Dancing Queen again. I also saw Nerve recently, so I’ve started listening to the soundtrack, which I really enjoyed.

This month I saw:

So. Much. Theatre. The Melbourne Fringe Festival is on at the moment, and being part of the thespian family I am, we have bought a lot of tickets to see various shows. To start off the month though, I saw my school play. It was a production of A Dream Play by August Strindberg. It was quite enjoyable, and I loved seeing my friends on stage. They’re all extremely talented. The second show was the State Schools Spectacular, which I had never been to. Apparently it’s a vital part of going to primary school in Melbourne, however I went to primary school in Perth, where the athletics carnival was the most important. I also saw Macbeth + Macdeath: A Coda, at Melbourne Uni. It was great to see a bunch of young people doing a modern and interesting performance. I also saw my friend Bri Williams‘ show, Le Petite Merde, which was hilarious. She is a lovely person, comedian, performer and dog-lover. I also saw a show about saving the elephants in Africa, which I think is a very important message. You can find more about it here. I saw yet another show called Black is the Colour, which was performed entirely in Australian sign language, with written subtitles for those who couldn’t understand sign language. It was an eye-opening experience – very subtle, yet also powerful. As I mentioned before, I also saw Nerve, which I really liked. I thought the concept was very interesting, and it was easy to see how such a game could exist and spiral out of control. I supported Australian cinema (woohoo!) by seeing Girl Asleep, which I thought was phenomenal. It was tastefully awkward, surprising, and magical. The design was exceptional and the performances were great. I saw Captain Fantastic, starring my fellow Australian actor, Nicholas Hamilton. He did a fantastic job and it was a delightfully weird and captivating movie, which I really liked. And finally, I watched the first presidential debate. Goodness me. America, please don’t let Trump win. PLEASE.

This month I learnt:

  1. Going out into the world and seeing theatre and movies is good
  2. Staying at home in your pyjamas all day is only good for two days. After that, the novelty wears off
  3. Without the structure of school, I don’t know what to do
  4. Donald Trump is racist, sexist, and not fit to be President. Black lives matter. He for she. I’m with her.
  5. I don’t have the patience for songs that are longer than four and a half minutes long. Unless it’s Hamilton or part of a movie soundtrack.
  6. The state of Victoria gets a public holiday the day before the AFL Grand Final. I am in a state of shock.
  7. It’s okay to remember that sometimes you are the most important person in your life
  8. It’s okay to feel confused
  9. I do not have to shave my legs if I don’t want to

In October I’m looking forward to:

  1. Going to Paris for three days because for some reason I have been invited to fashion week? It might be a mistake but like idk wish me luck k thanks
  2. Living in America for seven weeks
  3. Spending Halloween in America again! (Although I don’t like candy corn)
  4. Getting back to work (;
  5. Watching the Australian Survivor finale!!! (I hope Kristie wins, also I’m so mad that Kate went home!)
  6. Watching The Bachelorette Australia finale (hopefully it’s not as much of a disaster as last season)
  7. Wondering if my choices in TV shows are really beneficiary for my life (probably not)

Angourie

Feature Image: I took this picture while taking Lola (my dog) for a walk to the dog park. Lola is quite a cheeky dog, and she is easily distracted by the outside world. We’re trying to teach her to not get too excited by things (babies, people, other dogs, cats, grass, basically anything that moves or makes a sound), however when she goes to the dog park, she is allowed to roam free and be as crazy as she wants. There were only three other dogs at the park, a big brown lab-staffy cross, a little border collie puppy that looked like a teddy bear, and a caramel coloured miniature poodle called Bowie. Bowie was only 6 months old, a little uncoordinated and not very fast. Lola is a whippet-kelpie cross, so she is very fast and very alert. Poor Bowie couldn’t keep up with Lola, but they did have a lot of fun and I could not get enough of their cuteness. 

Leave a Reply

